Tipsy Rolls and Bean-Beans

God is good in so many ways. If you are a parent then you know that your kids are almost certainly the most beautiful or the smartest of any kids in the whole world. That special bond that God puts between parent and child is an unexplainable mystery. I really do think my kids are the best ever and the joy that bring to my life is just totally cool. God has blessed me with two little ones – Big D is my 4 year old son and JR is my 2 year old little girl. Lately I have been laughing so hard my side hurts at some of the funny things that they have been saying.

I was helping Big D get dressed for his aunt’s wedding on Saturday as he was the ring bury-er (not bearer :)). We rented him a little tuxedo and I was helping him with the shirt and he said, “Dad, do you know why they call this a tux?”. Now if you’re a parent, you can sometimes pick up on the fact that your children are asking a rhetorical question. This was definitely one of those times. “No, D, why do they call this a tux?” He answered, “Because when you put it on you have to tucks it in to make it look nice!” I just rolled on the floor laughing. He is the best. And then, only a few minutes later he asked me to pass him the “cucumber bun”. :) He said, “Dad, what is this thing for anyway? I mean, it can’t be a belt because it doesn’t make a good belt at all.” :) He is a riot.

At church our kids always manage to find some kind of candy from all kinds of various sources like some of the choir members (one of whom always gives them candy is leaving. We will miss you terribly TD. You are in our thoughts and prayers.) or C in the nursery. JR (my little 2 year old girl) loves candy and would give her left arm for candy in a minute. C always has jelly beans and JR will often run to her and ask for “bean-beans”. And Big D loves lollipops. He was working on a tootsie roll lollipop one day and he got tired of it and asked me if I would hold his “tipsy roll pop” for a minute. He just kills me.

But I say all of this to again point to God’s great grace and love for us. It is in even these small everyday things that God can reassure us and give us a comfort that is just awesome. Only God could use the words of little children to give an unspeakable joy to my soul.

1 thought on “Tipsy Rolls and Bean-Beans

Leave a comment